Altgeld Hall in 1915

Altgeld Hall, which was added to the National Register of Historic Buildings in 1970, was constructed in 1896-1897 and was first used as the University Library. In 1927, Altgeld Hall became the home of the College of Law. The Mathematics Department became the residents of Altgeld Hall in 1956. A centennial celebration was held June 16, 1997.

Watch this video showcasing Altgeld Hall (created in October 2014 by The News-Gazette)

Dates, facts, pictures and building layouts

Centennial Celebration, June 16, 1997

The Bells of Altgeld Hall

The University Chime was installed in the Altgeld Tower in 1920. The chime was the gift of the classes of 1914 through 1921 and the U.S. School of Miliary Aeronautics.


Campus Landmarks