H. Roy Brahana Prize

The H. Roy Brahana Prize is awarded to the student with the most exceptional undergraduate mathematics career. The award is not restricted to mathematics majors. The Brahana Prize is named in honor of H. Roy Brahana, a distinguished former professor of mathematics.

H. Roy Brahana was born in Lowell, Vermont in 1895. He received his bachelor's degree at Dartmouth College in 1916 and a Masters degree from Princeton in 1917. After a year and a half of service in the U. S. Army in World War I, he got his Ph.D. at Princeton University in 1920, writing his thesis in the emerging field of topology under the direction of Oswald Veblen. He joined the mathematics department of the University of Illinois immediately after getting his Ph.D. and remained on the staff until his retirement in 1963. At Illinois his interests turned to the theory of finite metabelian groups and related geometrical structures, and he supervised many Ph.D theses in that area. He served as acting head of the department of mathematics during the academic years 1947-1948 and 1954-1955. He served as editor of the works of G. A. Miller Professor Brahana was a very popular teacher and generously gave of his time to students at all levels. He and his wife were friendly people and helped create a warm atmosphere in which new faculty could flourish.

Recipients of the H. Roy Brahana Prize

2017 Haidong Gong Image removed.    
2016 Boris Xu Image removed.    
2015 Yiwang Chen Image removed.    
2014 Daniel Hirsbrunner Image removed.    
2013 Brian Freidin Image removed.    
2012 Sakulbuth Ekvittayaniphon Image removed. Jinjie He Image removed.
2011 Meng Guo Image removed. Yi Zeng Image removed.
2010 Yi-Wei Chan Image removed. Brent Nelson Image removed.
2009 Richard A. Moy Image removed.    
2008 Jack Scheff Image removed.    
2007 David Edward Grayson Image removed.    
2006 Simina Maria Boca Image removed.    
2005 Wing Ho Ko Image removed.    
2004 Noah Prince Image removed.    
2003 David Deuber Image removed.    
2002 David Smyth Image removed.    
2001 Michael Geline Image removed.    
2000 Eiji Aoki Image removed.    
1999 Brad Aaron Friedman Image removed.    
1998 (two recipients)</      
  Christopher Francisco Image removed.    
  Matthew Rodriguez Image removed.    
1997 Ivan Ivramovic Image removed.    
1996 Tsz Ho Chan
Patrick J. Keenan
1995 Thomas A. Insel      
1994 Christine Heitsch      
1993 David P. Nicholls      
1992 Howard Ding      
1991 Jeffrey Ho      
1990 Jeffrey Douglas      
1989 no award      
1988 David Bryce Secrest      
1987 Reid Charles Huntsinger
Brian Scott Pilz
1986 Jackson L. Kilpatrick
Michael D. Hollander
1985 Michael William Bell      
1984 Debra K. Borkovitz      
1983 Jerome V. Walsh      
1982 Oscar F. Hernandez      
1981 Craig Smith      
1980 no award      
1979 Richard La Sota
Christopher Bowen
1978 Michael Stillman      
1977 Paul Hriljac      
1976 Bruce Hajek
Allen Moy
1975 Jerome Coonen      
1974 Marlies Gerber      
1973 William van Melle      
1972 Mark Ephron      
1971 Michael W. Jamieson
David Reiner
1970 no award      
1969 Stanley Paul Kerr
Robert Edwin Olson
Daniel Eaton Putnam
1968 Eric Douglas Bedford      
1967 Edward Paul Culp      
1966 Paul Harvey Cox      
1965 Hugh Montgomery      
1964 William Alan Edelstein