Salma Wanna Award

Salma Wanna received a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1976. Her dissertation was entitled "A Spectral Sequence for Group Presentations." The award was established in her memory by her family after her untimely death in 1980. This award is given for exceptional performance in mathematics to a continuing junior, not necessarily a math major. The prize committee consults with mathematics instructors and bases its decisions on instructor comments as well as outstanding success in course work.

2017 Alex Mendez Image removed.
2016 Haidong Gong Image removed.
2015 Boris Xu Image removed.
2014 Cheng Ni Image removed.
2013 Shiladitya Bhattacharyya Image removed.
2012 Lingkun Lu Image removed.
2011 Sakulbuth Ekvittayaniphon Image removed.
2010 Meng Guo Image removed.
2004 Wing Ho Ko Image removed.
2003 Ben Lundell Image removed.
2002 Ricardo Astudillo Image removed.
2001 Michael Baym Image removed.
1998 Eiji Aoki Image removed.
1997 Christopher Francisco Image removed.
1996 Mark Schmitt
1995 Tsz Ho Chan
Patrick J. Keenan
1994 Thomas Insel
1993 no award
1992 David P. Nicholls
1991 David Eugene Beckman
1990 Jeffrey Ho
1989 Jeffrey Douglas
1988 Joseph Andrew Kenny
1987 David Bryce Secrest
1986 no award
1985 Noriko Honda