Department of Mathematics Committee Assignments 2020-2021, by individual

Scott Ahlgren

Capricious Grading Comp Exam 530 P&T (chair)

Pierre Albin

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity Grievance Teaching Awards (chair)

Kevin Armstrong

AH/IH Renovation Computer Steering Space

Jozsef Balogh

ALG/Comb Faculty Search Area Chair Combinatorics Colloquium (chair) Comp Exam 580 P&T

Yuliy Baryshnikov

Awards/Scholarships/Fellowships (ex officio) GAC (voting ex officio) Grad Recruitment and Application Screening

Daniel Berwick-Evans

Comp Exam 500 Space Teaching Awards

Florin Boca

Comp Exam 542 Grad Recruit Application Screening UAC

Steve Bradlow AH/IH Renovation (chair) P&T

Aaron Brewer AH/IH Renovation

Jared Bronski Appl Math Faculty Search (chair) Differential Equations Curricular Revision (chair) Picnic and Social Events (chair) Postdoc Search Undergraduate Advising

Lee Deville

Grad Recruit Application Screening (chair) P&T (Spring 2022 only) Strategic Planning (Spring 2022 only)

Partha Dey

Comp Exam 561 Undergraduate Advising

Philippe Di Francesco

Alumni Awards (chair) AH/IH Renovation (Spring 2022 only) Canary Prof Search Grad Recruit Application Screening Strategic Planning

Chris Dodd

Area Chair Algebraic Geometry and Mathematical Physics Comp Exam 511 GAC

Nathan Dunfield

AH/IH Renovation P&T Space (chair)

Sankar Dutta

Comp Exam 500 GAC Grad Recruit Appl Screening

Iwan Duursma

Comp Exam 500 (chair) EC

Burak Erdogan

Comp Exam 540 (chair) Grievance Undergraduate Advising

Runhuan Feng

Area Chair Actuarial Science Comp Exam 563 Grad Recruit Application Screening

Kevin Ford Area Chair Number Theory Comp Exam 531 Grad Recruit Application Screening

William Haboush

Comp Exam 511

Jeremiah Heller Comp Exam 525 EC Picnic and Social Events

A J Hildebrand Putnam Proficiency

Aimo Hinkkanen Academic Program Review Task Force Area Chair Analysis

Anil Hirani

Colloquium Elections (chair) Liaison Library

April Hoffmeister Capricious Grading

Vera Hur

AH/IH Renovation Alumni Award (ex officio) Development/MDAB EC (chair) Liaison: Beckman, IGB, MSRI P&T

Sergei Ivanov

Comp Exam 500 Grad Recruit Application Screening Study Abroad

Xiaochen Jing

Comp Exam 563 (Spring 2022 only) Undergraduate Advising Marius Junge EC Postdoc Search Strategic Planning

Sheldon Katz

Academic Program Review Task Force (chair) AH/IH Renovation Canary Prof Search Development/MDAB (chair)

Rinat Kedem

ALG/Comb Faculty Search Area Chair Algebra P&T Climate-Equity-Inclusivity

Ely Kerman

UAC (non-voting ex officio) Personnel Committee Specialized Faculty (chair)

Kay Kirkpatrick

AH/IH Renovation Appl Math Faculty Search Personnel Committee Specialized Faculty Strategic Planning

Eduard Kirr

Comp Exam 553 Computer Steering (Fall 2021 only) Undergraduate Advising (Fall 2021 only)

Alexandr Kostochka

EC Comp Exam 580 Graduate Application Screening Postdoc Search

Denka Kutzarova

Capricious Grading (chair) Colloquium Undergraduate Advising

Gabriele La Nave

Awards/Scholarships/Fellowships Comp Exam 550

Richard Laugesen

Academic Program Review Task Force AH/IH Renovation Canary Prof Search

Felix Leditzky

Appl Math Faculty Search Colloquium (MSS Colloquium Chair) Grad Recruit Application Screening

Eugene Lerman

P&T UAC (chair)

Xiaochun Li

P&T Comp Exam 540 Grad Recruit Application Screening

Rui Loja Fernandes

Canary Prof Search (chair) Comp Exam 518 GAC Postdoc Search Strategic Planning (chair)

Aldo Manfroi

Differential Equations Curricular Revision Undergraduate Advising

Brock Martin Computer Steering (chair)

Randy McCarthy Awards/Scholarships/Fellowships (ex officio) UAC (voting ex officio)

Jennifer McNeilly

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity UAC Undergraduate Advising

Karen Mortensen

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity Pi Mu Epsilon advisor

Igor Nikolaev

Comp Exam 540 Undergraduate Advising

Timur Oikhberg

Comp Exam 540 Putnam Undergraduate Advising

James Pascaleff

EC (Fall 2021 only) Picnic and Social Events (Fall 2021 only)

Laura Placzek Teaching Awards

Zhiyu Quan

Alumni Award Comp Exam 563 (Fall 2021 only) Computer Steering (Spring 2022 only)

Zoi Rapti

Academic Program Review Task Force Appl Math Faculty Search Faculty Search, Appl Math Grievance Postdoc Search (chair)

Charles Rezk

Area Chair Geometry and Topology Comp Exam 525 GAC (chair) P&T

Bruce Reznick

AWM Advisor Climate-Equity-Inclusivity (chair) Elections

Renming Song

Area Chair Probability Comp Exam 561 EC

Richard Sowers

Development/MDAB Liaison Engineering

Vesna Stojanoska

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity (Spring 2022 only) Grievance Jesse Thorner Comp Exam 531 Grad Recruit Application Screening

Susan Tolman

Canary Prof Search Climate-Equity-Inclusivity Comp Exam 518 UAC

Alex Tumanov

Comp Exam 542 Undergraduate Advising

Nikolaos Tzirakis

Awards/Scholarships/Fellowships (chair) Comp Exam 553 Grad Recruit Application Screening P&T

Alex Yong

ALG/Comb Search Committee (chair) Academic Program Review Task Force

Alexandru Zaharescu

Awards/Scholarships/Fellowships Comp Exam 530 Grad Recruit Application Screening

Vadim Zharnitsky

Area Chair Differential Equations Comp Exam 550 Personnel Committee Specialized Faculty

SABBATICALS

Lee Deville (Fall 2021) Eduard Kirr (Spring 2022) Igor Mineyev (AY 2021-2022) James Pascaleff (Spring 2022) Alex Yong (Fall 2021)

SENATE

Pierre Albin (2020-2022) Lee Deville (2020-2022) Iwan Duursma (2020-2022) George Francis (2020-2022) Marius Junge (2021-2023) Rui Loja Fernandes (2021-2023) Renming Song (2021-2023)

OTHER COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

Steve Bradlow (LAS General Education Committee) Marius Junge (Senate Budget Committee) Rick Laugesen (Sloan-UCEM Steering Committee) Bruce Reznick (LAS Working Group for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) Sheldon Katz (Dean's Special Advisor for the Altgeld/Illini Renovation, Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights)