Department of Mathematics Committee Assignments 2020-21 by individual

Scott Ahlgren

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce P&T

UAC (chair)

Capricious Grading

Pierre Albin

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity

Grievance

Kevin Armstrong

COVID-19 Math/Stats Building Taskforce

AH/IH Renovation

Space

Jozsef Balogh

Area Chair Combinatorics (Spring 2021 only)

Colloquium (Spring 2021 only)

Comp Exam 580

Juliy Baryshnikov

Data Science Education Taskforce (chair)

Liaison Engineering

PI4

Daniel Berwick-Evans

Comp Exam 500 (chair)

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Florin Boca

Business Processes Improvement Taskforce

P&T

Personnel Committee for Specialized Faculty

Undergraduate Advising

Strom Borman

MATRIX Math Club Advisor

Steve Bradlow

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce (chair)

P&T

Area Chair Geometry and Topology

Aaron Brewer

Business Processes Improvement Taskforce

Jared Bronski

P&T

Data Science Education Taskforce

Differential Equations Curricular Revision (chair)

Bruce Carpenter

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce

Alison Champion

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce

Matt Childress

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce

Alfred Chong

Alumni Awards

Comp Exam 563

Lee Deville

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity

GAC (voting ex officio)

Grad Recruit Application Screening

PI4

Partha Dey

Teaching Awards (chair)

UAC

Philippe Di Francesco

Alumni Awards

Comp Exam 500

Honors *chair*

Chris Dodd

Comp Exam 511

Prizes

Undergraduate Advising

Sankar Dutta

Computer Steering

Area Chair Algebra (Spring 2021 only)

Iwan Duursma

Area Chair Algebra (Fall 2020 only)

EC.

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Burak Erdogan

GAC

Grievance

Honors

Postdoc Search (chair)

Runhuan Feng

Area Chair Actuarial Science

Comp Exam 563

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Kevin Ford

Area Chair Number Theory

Comp Exam 530 (August 2020 only)

Comp Exam 531

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Rosemary Guzman

Prizes

William Haboush

Comp Exam 511

Prizes

Jeremiah Heller

Business Processes Improvement Taskforce

UAC

Personnel Committee for Specialized Faculty

Strategic Planning

Philipp Hieronymi

Area Chair Logic

Comp Exam 570

Pi Mu Epsilon Advisor

Strategic Planning (Spring 2021 only)

A J Hildebrand

Putnam

Proficiency

Aimo Hinkkanen

Comp Exam 542 (chair, Fall 2020) (August 2021

only)

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Undergraduate Advising (Fall 2020 only)

Anil Hirani

Colloquium (MSS Colloquium)

Elections

Liaison Library

Jenell Hironimus

Business Processes Improvement Taskforce

Alumni Award

AH/IH Renovation

April Hoffmeister

UAC

Capricious Grading

Sergei Ivanov

Comp Exam 500

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Undergraduate Advising

Marius Junge

P&T

AH/IH Renovation

Comp Exam 542

Space

Sheldon Katz

Area Chair Algebraic Geometry / Math Physics

AH/IH Renovation

Development/MDAB

Strategic Planning

Rinat Kedem

P&T

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity

Ely Kerman

UAC (non-voting ex officio)

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce

Eduard Kirr

Comp Exam 553

Computer Steering (chair) Undergraduate Advising

Alexandr Kostochka

EC

Area Chair Combinatorics (Fall 2020 only) Comp Exam 580

Denka Kutzarova

Colloquium (chair)
Comp Exam 540
Undergraduate Advising

Gabriele La Nave

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Emily Lange

COVID-19 Math/Stats Building Taskforce

Richard Laugesen

AH/IH Renovation (chair)
Comp Exam 542 (chair, Spring 2021)
COVID-19 Math/Stats Building Taskforce (chair)
PI4

Felix Leditzky

Colloquium (Spring 2021 only)
Computer Steering (Spring 2021 only)

Eugene Lerman

GAC

Comp Exam 518

Data Science Education Taskforce

Strategic Planning

Xiaochun Li

P&T

Comp Exam 540

Rui Loja Fernandes

P&T (chair)

Comp Exam 518

Aldo Manfroi

Differential Equations Curricular Revision Teaching Awards

Brock Martin

Business Processes Improvement Taskforce

Randy McCarthy

EC

UAC (voting ex officio)

Jennifer McNeilly

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce

Undergraduate Advising

Igor Mineyev

Comp Exam 500 Computer Steering

Prizes

Karen Mortensen

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity COVID Ombuds

Anu Murphy

AH/IH Renovation
COVID-19 Math/Stats Building Taskforce

Oanh Nguyen

Comp Exam 561

Igor Nikolaev

Comp Exam 540

Undergraduate Advising (Spring 2021 only)

Timur Oikhberg

Comp Exam 540

Putnam

Undergraduate Advising

James Pascaleff

EC

AH/IH Renovation

Sarka Petrickova

AH/IH Renovation

Zhiyu Quan

Prizes

Zoi Rapti

Comp Exam 550

GAC

Teaching Awards

Charles Rezk

P&T (Fall 2020 only) Comp Exam 525

Strategic Planning (chair) (Fall 2020 only)

Bruce Reznick

Grievance

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity (chair)

Renming Song

P&T

GAC (chair)

Area Chair Probability

Comp Exam 561

Richard Sowers

COVID-19 Math Instructional Taskforce

Vesna Stojanoska

Climate-Equity-Inclusivity

Space (chair)

Pat Szuta

Business Processes Improvement Taskforce COVID-19 Math/Stats Building Taskforce

Jesse Thorner

Comp Exam 530

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Susan Tolman

Comp Exam 525

Personnel Committee Specialized Faculty (chair)

Undergraduate Advising

Alex Tumanov

Area Chair Analysis Comp Exam 542

Jeremy Tyson

EC (chair)

P&T

Alumni Award (non-voting ex officio)

AH/IH Renovation

Development/MDAB

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Liaison Beckman

Liaison IMA

Liaison MSRI

Nikolaos Tzirakis

Capricious Grading

Comp Exam 553

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Prizes (chair)

Lou van den Dries

EC

Comp Exam 570

Postdoc Search

Kim Whittlesey

AWM Advisor

Alex Yong

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Postdoc Search

Alexandru Zaharescu

Grievance

Comp Exam 530

Comp Exam 531

Grad Recruit Application Screening

Vadim Zharnitsky

Area Chair Differential Equations

EC

Comp Exam 550

Grad Recruit Application Screening

SABBATICALS

Jozsef Balogh (Fall 2020) Nathan Dunfield (AY 2020-2021) Sankar Dutta (Fall 2020) Aimo Hinkkanen (Spring 2021) Igor Nikolaev (Fall 2020) Charles Rezk (Spring 2021)

CENTER FOR ADVANCED STUDY APPOINTMENTS

Alex Yong (CAS Associate, Spring 2021)

LAS STUDY IN A SECOND DISCIPLINE RELEASES

Vera Hur (AY 2020-2021) Kay Kirkpatrick (AY 2020-2021)

SENATE

Pierre Albin (2020-2022) Lee Deville (2020-2022) Iwan Duursma (2020-2022) Randy McCarthy (2019-2021) Bruce Reznick (2019-2021) Timur Oikhberg (2019-2021) George Francis (2020-2022)

OTHER COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

Partha Dey (LAS General Education Committee)
Pierre Albin (LAS Policy and Development Committee)
Marius Junge (Senate Budget Committee)
Rick Laugesen (Sloan-UCEM Steering Committee)
Alex Yong (Graduate College Executive Committee)
Sheldon Katz (Dean's Special Advisor for the Altgeld/Illini Renovation, Joint Advisory Committee on Investment, Licensing, and Naming Rights)