Kuo-Tsai Chen Prize in Mathematics

The Chen Prize was established in 1989 by the family and friends of Professor K.-T. Chen and is awarded in recognition of outstanding scholastic achievement by a graduate student whose research interests lie in the area of the relationship between geometry and analysis or the relationship between algebra and analysis.

Professor Chen was an outstanding mathematician of international reputation, widely quoted for his contributions to the qualitative theory of ordinary differential equations and to algebraic topology. Professor Chen received his Ph.D. in 1950 from Columbia University. Before joining the University of Illinois mathematics faculty in 1967, he taught at the University of Hong Kong, the Instituto Technologico de Aeronautica in Brazil, and at Rutgers University. Five students completed their PhD under his direction.


  • 2018   Matej Penciak
  • 2017   Byron Heersink
  • 2016   Seth Wolbert
  • 2015   Brian Collier
  • 2014   Vyron Vellis
  • 2013   Anton Lukyanenko
  • 2011   Dusty Gundmeier
  • 2009   L. Mercredi Chasman
  • 2005   Jae-Seong Cho
  • 2003   Xiaosheng Li
  • 2001   Lia Petracovici and Donghoon Hyeon
  • 1999   Matthias Aschenbrenner
  • 1997   Massoud Amini
  • 1995   Jeffrey Ho
  • 1993   Karin Johnsgard
  • 1991   Allen Rogers
  • 1989   Hobum Kim